More Profundity From a Great Show

Parks and Recreation Cast

One Last Ride

Parks and Recreation just ended, so I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone. But the reason I loved Lost was not because it was the greatest show ever made. That honor probably goes to Breaking Bad or maybe The Wire depending on my mood. No, I loved Lost because each of its characters was larger than life and the overarching theme of the show was about people wrestling with choice and destiny. It hit an emotional chord with me. I think about it everyday.

And a Teddy Roosevelt quote can’t be a spoiler, but it loomed large in the Parks and Recreation finale and it, too, resonated with me:

Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.

Leslie modifies the quote, which only sweetens it, but I’ll let you discover that for yourself. If you were ever a fan of Parks and Recreation the finale was well-executed. Very good. See it.

What say you?

