Grow Up

Growing Up

Remember when you were a kid and you dreamed about what you were going to be when you grew up? I think about that often. This isn’t what I dreamed about. But I don’t really remember what I thought would happen. The only clear memory I have is that I wanted to be an Oceanographer like Matt Hooper from Jaws.
It’s perfect. My dreams then were based entirely in fiction like they are now.

I never dreamed about writing as a little kid.

I used to write stories and read them to my parents. When I was in 6th grade, I wrote a story about my teacher being a serial killer. She liked it so much she read it to the class. It felt great hearing everyone respond to the story. I wrote more.

I’m still chasing that feeling. I’ll figure out what I’ll be when I grow up when I catch it.

What say you?

