If you do what you love, you will never work a day in your life… maybe

I wrote a book called Titan. It’s about a superhero that I created. I am working on publishing it. No matter what, it will be published. I’m using Amazon’s “Createspace” solution for self-publishing and I have commissioned an illustrator to design my character and a book cover. However, I am also working with a publishing consultant to sell my book in the more “traditional” way.

I have to draft two documents for the consultant to help me polish and, ultimately, submit to publishers and maybe agents. The first is a pitch letter (query letter is another name for it) and the second is a proposal, which is supposed to be a more in depth description of my book. Kind of like a book report. The pitch should be no more than one page—short, concise, and to the point. The proposal, on the other hand, should be longer somewhere around 5 pages.

It’s a grind. I loved writing Titan and I love thinking about it, but I finished the first draft years ago (how many, I don’t remember anymore, but it was at least three). I’ve revised the book. I’ve edited it. I worked with a line editor to polish it. I want to move on. I’m writing another book right now, but I’ve set it aside to work on the proposal. It’s tough. I want people to read what I’ve written—that’s really the goal for me. I want people to read it and like it and, hopefully, want to read more. This has never been about money for me.

However, publishing a book is a transaction. There is a business side to it. I can tell you right now that I don’t like it. I think my goal now is to not only write something people like, but to do it well enough that I don’t have to keep justifying the work. They say that if you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life. Well, I love writing. But I’m tired of moving backwards or sideways. This proposal is a real chore and I can’t wait to finish the first draft. Writing about my writing is not as much fun as it might seem to be.

I wanted a better, pithier “premiere” blog post, but this proposal is rough and I had to get that off of my chest. I hope it gives me the chance to put my work in front of a wider audience.

What say you?

